Interview with a Wrestler! Joey Bricco

We here at BooLawler.com are attempting to expand our horizons. You’re familiar with the spoilers and opinion pieces, so we’re venturing out onto new things. Last night we did our first ever podcast, and today brings you our first ever interview! We were lucky enough to have CTWE Star Joey Bricco sit down (and by sit down, I mean he sat at his computer and I sat at mine) with us for good old fashioned good time!

First off, tell everyone your name and where you’re from.
My name is Joey Bricco and I reside from Avon, Connecticut

What did your parents say when you told them, “Mom, Dad, I’m going to be a wrestler”?
When I first told my parents I wanted to be a wrestler, they weren’t all that surprised to be honest. My dad was more all for it than my mom was, he was the person who initially got me into it in the first place. My mom supported it but insisted I go to college first, and it’s a good thing I did seeing as how that’s where I met a lot of my connections ironically enough.

Where and who trained you?
I started my official training in Chicopee, Mass under the guidance of Kevin Landry and Aaron Morrison.

When did you start wrestling?
I started training there in September 2005.

Describe your first ever match.
My first ever match was in Chicopee, Mass for Big Time Wrestling. It was a fundraiser show with a lot of new students making their debut. My match was about 8-10 min long. I don’t remember too much about it honestly but I was extremely nervous and was fairly happy with the outcome at the time.


Growing up, who was your favorite wrestler?
Growing up my favorite wrestler was a tie between The Rock and Shawn Michaels.

As a fan, what’s your favorite match?
As a fan, I’d have to say one of my favorite matches would be the iron match match between HBK and Bret, but I could watch any match between Eddie, Benoit, Jericho, Bret, HBK, any day of the week and be totally entertained.

What was your favorite match that you’ve been in?
My favorite match I’ve actually been involved in was on one of the last DPW shows. It was a six man tag between myself, Chris Battle, & Mikey Chase w/ Kathleen Battle vs. Andy Sweet, Doug Summers, & Anthony Battle. We had such great chemistry that night and the crowd was easting it up the entire time. I’ll never forget it.

Who’s your favorite person to be in the ring with; whether it’s as an opponent or as a tag partner?
On that note, it makes sense that one of my favorite people to be involved in a match with are hands down Chris Battle, Mikey Chase, Doug Summers, also Billy King, Zack Statik, or AJ Cruise. I’ve wrestled those guys so many times, I feel like we always click. Sometimes better than others. But there’s always something there either way.

If you could change one thing about either the WWE or TNA, what would it be?
The only thing I would change about TNA would be to shut it down. It is horrible and a disgrace to the wrestling business. While I don’t agree with some things WWE is going towards, they are however, unlike TNA, successful. Sometimes I wish they would push some of the “wrestling abled” talents over the “Batista’s” but hey, ya can’t win em’ all.

When you were in DPW you apart of the group called Anarchy. You guys pretty much were the show for a time, and it always seemed like you guys were just out there having fun. Tell us about that experience.
Being in Anarchy for the better parts of 2008-2009 was easily my favorite part of my wrestling career. I don’t know if it will ever be better really. Chris, Mikey, and myself have always been close. Then when we decided to add in Kathleen and Dave Cole to the mix, it just got better. Every week we were doing our own thing. We were given a mic and were told to “roll with it” sort of speak. I can not thank Mike Milano enough for that opportunity. It was at a point in my career where I wasn’t being taken seriously because of the whole Brian Anthony’s lackey gimmick and I was pretty depressed in a lot of ways. Being in Anarchy helped shine a new light on my passion for pro wrestling on the independent scene.

Unfortunately this past December, Mike E Milano passed away. Could you describe how Milano and DPW have affected you both personally and professionally?
When Mike passed, it was surreal. He had such a tremendous impact on my life and I will never forget him. He was the one who helped put me in the right direction when I wasn’t happy where my career was headed. He helped me book CTWE and I often asked him advice about running a company when I had questions or uncertainties. I wouldn’t be where I was today without him, and it was a privilege and an honor just knowing him.

In September 2009, CTWE had Colt Cabana, Brian Danielson, and Antonio Thomas all on the same show. At the time, did you know CTWE would be featured in Wrestling Road Diaries (which features me running out of the way as Danielson throws Chris Battle into the wall), or when they showed up did you think “Oh it’s just Colt and a camera guy”?
The wrestling road diaries was such a great exposure for CTWE. I did know all about it weeks before, but not all the details as far as what was going on. I remember it like it was yesterday. I was at work when Antonio Thomas texted me saying “hey do you want to book Bryan Danielson and Colt Cabana?” To which I immediately replied, YES! Antonio was doing a seminar with them the day of in Chicopee, Mass and I guess they were looking for a show to do that evening, basically a little extra pay day. Which makes sense. I found out right before my August show so it was perfect timing to announce it for September. Then, it got even better. A week before the show it was announced that he had signed with WWE. Wow, talk about being thrilled! It took a while for the WRD to be released on DVD, but now that it is, I couldn’t be happier with how it turned out and I advise anyone who likes wrestling to check it out.

If you could change one thing about both the independent scene in CT, as well as the indy scene in general, what would it be and why?
I wish there were more promotions running around the area. It sucks being the only company in the state. Everyone wants to be booked, and rightfully so. It sucks that I can’t make everyone happy and have them wrestle every single month. It was better when there were 2 – 3 promotions running so everyone got a chance to shine and there was a little bit of different tastes in booking throughout the shows. Competition is good for business.

I’m sure everyone, especially Kathleen, can’t wait for you to release her from Brian Anthony’s lime green grasp. Besides your own, of course, what’s one match on the card you’re really looking forward to?
Besides my match on May 14th where I hopefully will finally defeat Brian Anthony, whom I have never beat in the past, I am most looking forward to the last man standing match with Bobby Ocean vs. Dan De Man. The ladder match will be amazing too obviously, but Dan & Bobby have great chemistry, and something tells me this one is going to be very special.

3 out of 5 people agree!

How did the “Joey Bricco is Pretty Good…I Guess” shirt come about?
Joey Bricco is Pretty Good… I guess, haha. Good times. It was actually a joke on myself that I decided to capitalize. Basically just stemming from when you ask a fellow wrestler how your match was, and they reply “pretty good… i guess” so one day Chris Battle jokingly said I should make a t-shirt out of it. And so I did.
And finally, where does Joey Bricco see Joey Bricco in five years? Same with CTWE?
In five years, I would say I would be retired from pro wrestling. However I feel the opposite about CTWE. I want to take it to the highest level it can achieve, and I plan on doing just that.

I would like to once again thank Joey Bricco for taking the time to answer a few of my questions. For more information on CTWE, head over to CTWEProWrestling.com Like them on Facebook at: CTWE on Facebook! and follow him on Twitter @CTWE_JoeyBricco And of course, for our local friends, don’t forget to attend BRICCOMANIA III this Saturday in Bethany, CT. Show starts at 7 so be there and support!

Posted on May 12, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. DO YOU GUYS THINK YOU COULD GIVE AWAY TICKETS FOR BRICCOMANIA I WANNA GO BUT I DONT HAVE ANY MONEY RIGHT NOW. MAYBE YOU SHOULD HAVE A CONTEST WITH SOME TRIVA OR SOMETHING LIKE THAT. THEN IT WOULD BE FUN FOR EVERYONE AND IT WOULD BE FOR A GOOD CAUSE. BECAUSE THEN THE SHOW WOULD DO GOOD. AND THEY ALWAYS NEED EXTRA PEOPLE TO COME AND HELP OUT WITH THE EXTRA STUFF. I ONLY NEED 1 TICKET BECAUSE NONE OF MY FRIENDS WANT TO GO, BUT IF YOU GUYS WANT WE COULD SIT TOGETHER.

Leave a Reply

